Oo, How I Love to Be Loved by You

ed_wynnGeorge Gershwin teamed up with his good friend and occasional lyricist Lou Paley to create “Oo, How I Love to Be Loved by You.” It was pulled from 1919’s La La Lucille but was interpolated into The Ed Wynn Carnival of 1920.

To be honest, the most memorable thing about this song is that it’s not very memorable. I think the lyrics do little for the Gershwin tune, which is good, but maybe not his catchiest. But, they can’t all be hits, or else they all would be hits. Just maybe I suffer from finding so many of George Gershwin’s songs instantly memorable that this one suffers in comparison.

Download the fake-book style sheet music to “Oo, How I Love to Be Loved by You” here: Oo, How I Love to Be Loved by You

 

Lyrics to “Oo, How I Love to Be Loved by You” by Lou Paley:

A boy I love sincerely.
I know he loves me too.
He gives me kisses merely
because I like a few.
Now tell me wouldn’t you-oo
be glad to get a few-oo
Each time he comes a long
I sing this little song:

Chorus 1: Oo, how I love to be loved by you.
I guess that you love my loving too.
And when you say goodnight to me
it’s past eleven.
I keep wishing it were only seven.
Oo, how I love to be loved by you.

Chorus 2: Oo, how I love to be loved by you.
I guess that you love my loving too.
And when you hold me oh so tight
within your rough arms,
I feel sure that two are not enough arms
Oo, how I love to be loved by you.

Leave a Reply

