On My Mind the Whole Night Long

From the George White Scandals of 1920, this is a fairly obscure song by George Gershwin and Arthur Jackson. It is probably better known as a song that George recorded to a player piano roll which displayed his virtuosity.

It was first sung by Lloyd Garrett, a singer and lyricist of the song “Dallas Blues.”

Download the fake-book style sheet music of “On My Mind the Whole Night Long” here: On My Mind the Whole Night Long

Lyrics to “On My Mind the Whole Night Long”:
Verse 1: We have said “Goodbye.”
Too late now to sigh.
Still I feel so blue,
wearying for you,
‘cause you are…

Chorus: On my mind the whole night long.
I am for you right or wrong.
When the dusk comes creeping
should be time for sleeping,
but you’re on my mind the whole night long.

Verse 2: I thought time would heal
all the woes I feel,
but each night I toss,
mourning for my loss
“cause you are…

Leave a Reply

