Some of the Time I’ll Miss You

NeveraDullMoment2

Irene Dunne and Fred MacMurray in Never a Dull Moment

This is one of six unused Kay Swift songs from the 1950 film Never a Dull Moment, which was based on Kay Swift’s semi-autobiographical novel, Who Could Ask for Anything More?. Swift wrote the music AND lyrics this time around, and besides for the phrase “leave us face it,” I think she did a great job.

The sentiment of the lyric speaks to Kay Swift’s strength and independence in her personal relationships. Though I don’t know who in the film she planned to have sing this song, it certainly is in keeping with her won character as I have read about it in her biographies: Vicki Ohl’s Fine and Dandy: The Life and Work of Kay Swift and Katharine Weber’s The Memory of All That: George Gershwin, Kay Swift, and My Family’s Legacy of Infidelities.

Download the fake-book style sheet music PDF of Some of the Time I’ll Miss You here: Some of the Time I’ll Miss You


Lyrics to “Some of the Time I’ll Miss You” by Kay Swift

Some of the time I’ll miss you
and wish you could be where I’m.
But shed no tear if, throughout the year,
I miss you just half the time.

Some of the time I’ll miss you
and dream of the fun we’ve had,
but if you think I shall take to drink,
Then mister, (Dear lady,) it’s just too bad!

You’re the one when all is done,
the guy (gal) that’s made for me.
Still my dear, when you’re not here,
you’ll know I’m going to be free!

Some of the time I’ll miss you.
I’m hoping you’ll miss me too.
Yet, leave us face it, time does erase it,
Till we’re as good as new,
but not where the guy (gal) is you!

Leave a Reply

